COUNCIL MEETING Friday, 17th May, 2019

Present:- Councillor Alan Buckley (in the Chair); Councillors Alam, Albiston, Allcock, Allen, The Mayor (Councillor Jenny Andrews), Atkin, Beaumont, Beck, Bird, Carter, Clark, Cooksey, Cowles, Cusworth, B. Cutts, Elliot, M. Elliott, R. Elliott, Ellis, Fenwick-Green, Hoddinott, Ireland, Jarvis, Jones, Keenan, Khan, Lelliott, McNeely, Mallinder, Marriott, Napper, Pitchley, Price, Read, Roche, Rushforth, Russell, Sansome, Sheppard, Simpson, Steele, Taylor, John Turner, Tweed, Vjestica, Walsh, Watson, Williams, Whysall, Wyatt and Yasseen.

The webcast of the Council Meeting can be viewed at: https://rotherham.public-i.tv/core/portal/home

174. ELECTION OF CHAIR

Resolved:- That Councillor Jenny Andrews be elected Chairman of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing Municipal Year and that she be entitled to the style of Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Mover:- Councillor Rushforth Seconder:- Councillor Walsh

Councillor Andrews thereupon made and subscribed the statutory declaration of acceptance of office.

(Councillor Andrews assumed the Chair)

175. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR (COUNCILLOR ALAN BUCKLEY)

Resolved:- That the Council tender its sincere thanks to Councillor Alan Buckley for the excellent manner in which she has carried out all his duties as Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Rotherham and that the best thanks of this Council be recorded for the kind and admirable way in which Mrs. Sandra Buckley performed the duties of Mayoress.

Mover:- Councillor Taylor Seconder:- Councillor McNeely

176. PRESENTATION OF THE PAST MAYOR'S PENDANTS

The Mayor asked the Council to join her in offering her sincere thanks to Councillor Alan Buckley for the excellent manner in which he has carried out all his duties as Mayor and formally presented him and the Mayoress with their past Mayor's pendants.

177. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

Resolved:- That Councillor Ian Jones be elected Vice-Chairman of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing Municipal Year and that he be entitled to the style of Deputy Mayor by virtue of section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Mover:- Councillor Clark Seconder:- Councillor Jarvis

Councillor Jones thereupon made and subscribed the statutory declaration of acceptance of office.

178. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors D. Cutts, Evans, Hague, Jepson, Marles, Reeder, Senior, Short and Julie Turner.

179. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no Declarations of Interest to report.

180. APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CADETS

The Mayor formally announced the names of the Mayor's Cadets for the Municipal and Civic Year 2019/20 to the Council:-

- Air Force Cadets (218 Squadron) Flight Sergeant Mark Newbould.
- Sea Cadets Able Cadet Luke Kelsall.
- Army Cadets Cadet Corporal Sean Whitehouse.

The Mayor invited the Mayor's Cadets down individually to receive their Mayor's Cadet badge and framed certificate.